Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings by five wickets to end the playoff aspirations of the four-time IPL champions.

With three wickets in the powerplay, Daniel Sams collapsed  Chennai's top-order.

Jasprit Bumrah and Riley Meredith each took one, leaving the opponents reeling at 29/5.

Chennai kept dropping wickets, finally succumbing for 97.

Chennai's top scorer was skipper Dhoni, who had an undefeated 36.

In response, Mumbai lost their openers' wickets early.

Tilak Varma and Hrithik Shokeen collaborated to keep the scoreboard ticking till Tim David won with a 7-ball 16. PC@Twitter

Ind Vs Srilanka 1st Test: BCCI to Allow Just 50pc Spectators